Poets logo

Sangria and Waiting for Godot

Time is a sycophant and people are devoid of empathy

By Freddy ZaltaPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

We once ran up the streets together, baseball gloves and bats in hand. We used to sing the same songs, read the same books and even love the same women.

We once were like brothers – I can remember our conversations late into the night.

Time brings unwanted responses to questions we never thought would be asked.

I miss you and the times we spent in front of the radio or the television. I miss when we used to stand on stage together and it was always you and me against the world.

I left the band to search for more meaning in a world with where meaning has no currency.

I miss you Johnny and the times we once spent together…chasing rainbows and exalting false heroes who always turned out to be all too human…it's hard to accept the fact that we all turn out to be all too human.

I always thought we would be sitting on a park bench watching people and time pass by, waiting for Godot.

Time and life rob us of our faith in others – the MRI’s show there are no blockages or dead ends – just viruses that cause people to be self consumed, a parasitic worm that takes away all empathy.

I’ve been too long on this platform, waiting for a train that will never come; it's been over 20 years since I got here and it’s still not even in sight. Its been several lifetimes that have passed me by. I walk alone these days, a man in full with a heart that has been healed but is forever scarred.

The clocks keep on moving forward, you can’t ever go back there again.

The old man is gone and the old days are past us now. Life is not as simple as I once thought it to be and I miss you old friend.

Remember the night by the river, those two girls from Spain who taught us how to dance and how to drink red sangria? I caught up with one of them recently and she confirmed the fact that it actually happened.

As I get older I tend to question my memories. I was happy to see her smile. She asked me, Where have you been? Where has it all gone?

It’s all over now – it truly doesn’t matter – too much pain and time has flowed – like an open vein under the warm water that once bathed us – it’s all over now.

I hope you find happiness and your love continues to grow and your walls expand in your home.

Me? I walk with my loves and I will continue trying to find my way without any train in sight. There are always God’s surprises in store for us all.

As I sit on this bench, in the park by the home we use to live in, I take out a flask and I raise it to you; “Here’s to old friends.”

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Freddy Zalta

Currently working with families to develop personal biographies to be handed down to future generations.

Also writing fiction and poetry.

https://linktr.ee/Freddyzalta

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.