Poets logo

Sad Definitions

By Joel LippertPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Sad Definitions
Photo by Roman Kraft on Unsplash

~dis•har•mo•ny

I am not myself, and I don’t like this me – don’t like this me you are now experiencing. Blood and bile chew the bright finish off the asymmetrical tuning fork I stuck in my own gut.

~eu•clid•e•an kar•ma

I am trying to make the object of my anger feel what I feel. And though I pivot only 180 degrees, I still stab myself in the back.

~un•bal•anced

I can’t get evened out, can’t get to the me that I sometimes like. I can’t pull the plumb-bob out of my crooked ass; implosion is imminent.

~con•flict

I suddenly hate what I love – but is that unusual? Why must I endure this duplicity, this tempest that I created while walking backwards in crepe-soled shoes?

~e•go

Super-Id rears his/her hungry medusa-head – she/he feeds on the empty air of unvoiced appreciation. The lack of acknowledgement makes the serpents hungrier and more assured of their habits.

~pun•ish•ment

I suffer my foolish self sadly and beat my companions over the head with my bloody sleeve and pound of flesh. Where did I learn this; at Sunday school maybe?

~pit•y

You are not invited to this party of one, yet you have no choice but to observe from your mood-proof, glass bubbles. Waves of reflected light, and your humanity, render the glass useless – and I apologize.

~fa•tigue

I exhaust myself with selfishness and self-loathing. I tire of boring you with my righteousness, but I’m on a role.

~blame

The fault line is all mine on this two-way street of communication. I left the right side to coast down the middle and high-centered on the median. Three fingers still point back at only me.

~ret•ri•bu•tion

The pay-off too could be all mine, and I could keep this disdain up forever. But I kiss you on your cheek instead, and am no longer sadly defined.

heartbreaklove poemssad poetryinspirational
Like

About the Creator

Joel Lippert

We all just create something out of something else; to create something out of nothing would be truly divine, would it not?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.