Poets logo

Don't Blink

By Joel LippertPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like
"Eye Me" - Photo of and by Joel Lippert

What should I do with those eyes, those gypsy eyes? They murder and resurrect me, either side of a blink. I think I’m free from them, and then I see them again, even when I’m not looking I see them, there in the periphery of my silly heart. And when they see me too, in moments of unspoken, shared, blurry clarity, I’m somewhere between knowing, longing, and utterly lost when I try to fathom what they are telling me, like water drops dancing on a hot skillet, disappearing into the thick, heated air, the mist finding its way into my parched eyes.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Joel Lippert

We all just create something out of something else; to create something out of nothing would be truly divine, would it not?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.