Poets logo

S'him/S'her/Them

The Trip I've Always Wanted to Take

By Gerard DiLeoPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
One-Way Trip

First there were the antitestosterone diuretics

Then came the estrogenic hormones

Next came decisiveness, incisiveness, incisional--castration

Then removal of other parts

The construction of novel parts

***

My parts are dropping like flies

I'm being forward-engineered

***

My pronouns are mutating,

........but they're also maturing

My résumé is being corrected

........LinkedOut to be LinkedIn

My way out is the swinging door

........hits me in the ass on my way in

Now the malleable world must mature to me

***

My new place in this world is sidestepping my old place: It's a dance...

..................but I'm still leading,

..................................................because they're playing my song 

social commentaryinspirational

About the Creator

Gerard DiLeo

Retired, not tired. In Life Phase II: Living and writing from a decommissioned church in Hull, MA. (Phase I was New Orleans and everything that entails. Hippocampus, behave!

https://www.amazon.com/Gerard-DiLeo/e/B00JE6LL2W/

[email protected]

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Novel Allen10 months ago

    Only you know the story behind the words. But transitioning is what it is, no matter what it is. Always hoping for the best.

  • This was so powerful! I loved it!

  • Inspired by someone very close to me transitioning.

Gerard DiLeoWritten by Gerard DiLeo

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.