Poets logo

Rural Oasis

Your peace is not my own

By Kristina JulianPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Sunset ride with Sunday

Someone told me today

That I need more of

The ocean in my life

They never once gave

Me the chance to

Tell them why

I don’t care if I’m

Out on the water or not

But if they had let me

Tell my side of things

They would know that

Nothing compares

To a hayfield in summer

Or the smell of

Honeysuckle at sunset

The way a brook

Babbles through a meadow

With wild turkey

Off in the distance

The sea never taught me

To look for cows laying

Underneath trees

if rain is on the way

Never taught my body

How to hold up

a thousand pound

Animal beneath me

Or the feeling of

Pure freedom

When you’re vision is

Framed by two attentive ears

The ground flying

Underneath you

As powerful hooves

Propel both of you

Forward without fear

Take me to the desert

The mountains

The plains

Take me where wild manes

Run free

That is where

I’ll find peace

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.