Poets logo

Roles

A poem about being born into our roles we play

By Imani WaltonPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - September 2023
35
Roles
Photo by Kira auf der Heide on Unsplash

I am the first

First child, first grandkid, first niece

The prototype

The role model

Being crushed under the weight of responsibility.

My skin turns me into a walking movement

A library on black rights

A testing ground on what is appropriate to say.

Being a woman means my rights are treated as privileges

Means doctors can choose if they want to hear me

Means my body is meant to produce and nothing else.

It feels like my existence is an experiment

How far can we push the sad black girl?

What’s her limit?

Using me to see how to treat those after me.

Its a game that I can’t win and most definitely won’t lose.

I may cry in private but when I walk outside

Head held high

I am a role model

I am a teacher

I am a movement.

Even if I never asked to be.

surreal poetry
35

About the Creator

Imani Walton

I used to write all the time and someway, somehow lost my way. Here’s me finding my passion again! I hope you enjoy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 7 months ago

    Fabulous!

  • Catherine Nyomenda7 months ago

    Well written. Keep it up

  • well written . You have been raised on how to survive in a very strange world. Keep the strength

  • Moussa Abass8 months ago

    I love it❤

  • Irenuma Frederick8 months ago

    I love it

  • Test8 months ago

    Wow so much emotion but an incredibly strong message! Brilliantly written 🤍

  • Ruby Red8 months ago

    I am a proud, strong, independant woman!

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Really good! You put lots of emotion in this! Take a stand! Good work! Fantastic!

  • Joe Patterson8 months ago

    Very well written, congratulations on top story.

  • Fahhan8 months ago

    I am a woman.

  • Sugan Ya 8 months ago

    Nice written... your words carry lot ... I loved it.. congrats on the TS

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    This righ here "Its a game that I can’t win and most definitely won’t lose." Wonderful words. Congrats on the TS.

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    This is amazing, it captures so much - the un-asked for muti-faceted weight, the caveats of the weight, the way you carry it, because if you dont, it will crush you.

  • Donna Renee8 months ago

    Wonderfully expressed, that is a lot to carry.

  • AngelBee8 months ago

    Right! I so get this and I love it!

  • Alexander McEvoy8 months ago

    There are some things here that I can't identify with, given our different demographics. But I resonate hard with the prototype line! First son, grandson, nephew, being the test case to see what works for those who come after is a heavy load. Thank you so much for sharing such a beautiful, raw poem and congrats on Top Story!

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Fabulous!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Profound and Accurate 🥹♥️📝💯👌Congratulations on your Top Story🎉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.