Poets logo

Rocky Mountain Oyster

written august 2022

By Sophie SwanPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

let the tempered hands

of alchemists

be those that hold my flesh.

to lay me, half-lit

by pearlescent shore,

prawn of a mountain

once swallowed in sea.

is it possible to peel you

back without a sting? i fear

i embedded you in

bedrock. cloaked myself

with alpine fossils

of molluscs, learned

to curl into my fingers

the empty shells of ammonites.

questions linger

in the exoskeleton i carved,

where vestigial creatures

contort their frames

to fit the contours of

your chin

to my face.

beneath the hardened carapace

do i still beat with my own blood?

on my tongue i hold

impressions of salt.

teachers excavate me

by scalpel, extract

entangled mountain

from the breath-brine of

a long-gone sea.

is it possible to form myself

again beyond your shape?

to see myself and not behold

a memory of you?

by moonlight i will weep

to see the ocean form your face

and i will rise again

another morning,

dancing sun upon the surface

of water,

glaze my rocky spine

with reflections of

its liquid light.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Sophie Swan

writer, poet, bard. Creatrix, Dragon Rider, Earth Protector ;

evergreen, ever-loving, & ever a fresh breath of life.

www.womxnofearth.life

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.