Poets logo

Rock Opera

A lifetime of music is a lifeline to sanity and salvation

By Gene LassPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Rock Opera
Photo by Ant Rozetsky on Unsplash

4 cassette cabinets

Stacked up on the floor

Two racks of CDs

A stack of LPs

I've heard them all

Over and over

Over and over

Age 24, working in Hell

Remembering King's words

Of soft hands and hard work

My hands are soft and grimy

Feet swollen and blistered

I go through two pairs of work gloves a day

In the printing plant

The temperature ranges from 60 to 120

Concrete floor

12-15 hour shifts with two 20-minute breaks

Working machines, stacking pallets

Choking on exhaust

Running on fumes

Dehydrated

My girlfriend works at a day camp

Playing with kids

Pampered

We're on a break, I think

I don't know

We were on one for one day

She made out with our friend

No nudity

Lots of groping

She came back to me

I'm still pissed

Twelve hours a day

I think of murder

Every hour I'm at work

Stacking

Binding

Sweating

I think of killing him

Butchering him

Blinding him

Taking my time

Leaving no trace of myself

Getting away with it

But she would know

As a Catholic

I fear Hell

Though I already work there

And murder

However deserved

Is a sin

So I work

And sing all the songs

From all the CDs, LPs, and tapes

I've heard so many times

Singing "Tommy" and "Quadrophenia"

Track by track

Humming the solos and instrumentals

"Abbey Road" and "Sgt. Pepper"

"It's Hard" and "Who's Next"

"Selling England by the Pound"

"Invisible Touch"

Over and over

Over and over

Calculating hours remaining by single and double albums

Filling the time

Numbing my mind

So I can survive 12 hours in Hell

And not damn myself forever

performance poetryslam poetry
2

About the Creator

Gene Lass

Gene Lass is a professional writer, writing and editing numerous books of non-fiction, poetry, and fiction. Several have been Top 100 Amazon Best Sellers. His short story, “Fence Sitter” was nominated for Best of the Net 2020.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsden2 years ago

    Ahh, music. I love it when palms come all collected like that. It’s a gift

  • Rebekah Conard2 years ago

    Music gets us through a lot. I'm excited to finally have a job where I can turn my music on.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.