Poets logo

Beautiful

Beauty Isn't Only On The Outside.

By Carol TownendPublished 13 days ago 1 min read
4
Beautiful
Photo by Aiony Haust on Unsplash

I have cellulite, some things can't be avoided,

I have a saggy tummy and stretch marks,

I've had kids!

I have a kangaroo pouch and a tyre around my waist,

Having kids makes it harder to get back in shape;

I have a weak pelvic floor, it fractured while I was pregnant,

That can still cause little toilet accidents.

I'm in my 40s and still menstruating,

And I still get spots and have tantrums like a teenager,

But that doesn't make me any meaner.

But;

Before you judge me,

Look inside my heart,

You'll find a woman who can stay committed until

death do us part,

You'll find a woman who lives life to the full,

Giving unconditional love never makes my life dull;

A woman, but still a girl who never grew up,

Who likes to dance and party,

Yet, knows when to adult,

A woman who loves being in love,

Who dances like a child,

Builds sandcastles on the beach,

Enjoys discos,

And loves the people she meets.

This woman has been through a lot of pain,

Her life has been strained;

This woman has been taunted for not being a model,

But in her heart, she knows it doesn't matter;

Because when it comes to the heart, she gives love with

all her strength,

And she knows she is beautiful,

Because beauty isn't only on the outside,

The best of beauty comes from inside.

Stream of Consciousnesssocial commentarylove poemsinspirational
4

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Colleen Walters12 days ago

    I love this a lot! We all have imperfect bodies (even the models) and yet we press on. You are a powerhouse 😍😊

  • Archery Owl13 days ago

    This beautifully captures real life and how many of us see ourselves

  • Yeah it is beautiful!!!

  • Babs Iverson13 days ago

    Spectacular and superbly penned!!! Loved it!!!

  • Absolutely beautiful

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.