Poets logo

Bad Neighborhood

From "Songs of Love and Hate"

By Gene LassPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Bad Neighborhood
Photo by Alin Andersen on Unsplash

I’m a spoiled suburban kid

I like to take my beatings

At school or at home

Where I know who’s beating me

And I can get them for free

Go to school

Get a beating at recess

Go to the bathroom

Get another quick one

Maybe a swirlie

Gym class

Approved beatings

Dressed up as sports

Bus ride home

Threats on the bus

A beating when we get off

Fat lips every day

Looking at Trulia and Zillow

My new block

In one of the city's more desired neighborhoods has

“Moderate crime”

Robbery, battery, assault

No murders this year

My old neighborhood

The most desirable suburb

Had crimes

But few reported

Vandalism, robbery, infidelity

Also two deaths

Both suicides

That’s the suburban way.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Gene Lass

Gene Lass is a professional writer, writing and editing numerous books of non-fiction, poetry, and fiction. Several have been Top 100 Amazon Best Sellers. His short story, “Fence Sitter” was nominated for Best of the Net 2020.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Hafseer Saneeabout a year ago

    I needed help resolving a lien against my home. It was a debt that started out at $5420 but rose to $167,000. The lien was filed in 2018 but I had made payments on the debt from 2007-2013. Our home had burned down and we were maintaining two residences so our finances got crazy. I cannot say exactly why we stopped making payments but the debt has gotten out of control and we were trying to do a home equity loan. After I read about the services of XAP Credit Solution, I had to quickly contact XAPCREDITSOLUTION at GMAIL .COM and I am glad I did, that debt was cleared and the lien was removed from my report. He went ahead to increase my FICO score to 802 in less than 2 weeks. Thanks again XAP.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.