Poets logo

Road Tripping

life on the road, or something like that

By Randy BakerPublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 1 min read

The open road on a sunny day,

middle of nowhere, middle of May.

Radio cranking, windows down.

Nothing but highway, no one around.

.

Through the windshield, what do I see?

A speck on the road, coming right at me.

The closer it got, the stranger it seemed.

A road mirage, a waking dream?

.

My curiosity was running wild,

as I closed the gap to about a mile

I shook my head and rubbed my eyes,

my mouth fell open in great surprise

.

Right there in the other lane

ever closer, on it came.

Something I’d never seen before;

a man riding high on a dinosaur

.

As we passed, his face a grin,

he gave a nod, with his chin,

from his perch on the creature’s neck

(I do believe that it was a T-Rex).

.

On I drove and he in a trot;

was it real, or was it not?

To this day, I do not know,

but anything’s possible on the open road.

humorFree VerseFor Fun

About the Creator

Randy Baker

Poet, author, essayist.

Follow me on X

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • J. R. Lowe29 days ago

    Hahaha so good

  • Cathy holmes30 days ago

    That was wonderful!

  • Christy Munsonabout a month ago

    How fun would that be? Unless you're there for the filming of Jurassic Park V or something, cuz that'll end badly... Enjoyed this one a lot. Such a fun idea!

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    I wanna ride on a dinosaur too hehehehehehhe

  • Shirley Belkabout a month ago

    Very creative!

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    HAHAHAHA, great job, loved it!!❣️ Original and rhyming. Where did you get the headline drawing?

Randy BakerWritten by Randy Baker

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.