Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Road Rage Conversations

You Never Know

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 7 days ago 1 min read
Road Rage Conversations
Photo by Joshua Wordel on Unsplash

Come on man, what are you doing? Back yourself up, get off my butt!

Come on lady, will you please get moving, your driving's gonna make me late.

Omg, what's wrong with you, where did you get your license from?

I gotta find a way around you, she panics when she can’t see my face.

What is your hurry? (she tries a brake check), where’s the fire? You're such a pain.

Move over, geesh, I need around, you've hogged the road the ENTIRE way.

Of course, a train, uuggh, not this morning. OMG dude, are you insane? You can’t pass now; (she starts to wave) - don’t you see the oncoming train……!

If I hurry, I will just make it, I've just got to pass, to get ahead. She'll be so glad I finally made it; He guns it hard to cross the tracks...!

Tires squeal, and glass shatters, as the train collides with the small sedan.

I don't understand it officer; he flew around me at high speed. I don't know how he couldn't see it coming, far too late touch his brakes.

surreal poetryMental Healthheartbreak

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 days ago

    Oh wow, I did not see that coming! Caught me off guard!

  • Caroline Craven7 days ago

    Holy macaroni! This was so believable and so awful. Great writing.

  • John Cox7 days ago

    Karma? Is that you?

  • Judey Kalchik 7 days ago

    all too real!

  • Babs Iverson7 days ago

    You captured the road rage thought conversation!!! Well done, Kelli!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Mark Graham7 days ago

    That's life on the road no matter where one lives. One must say prayers before starting their ignition.

  • Dana Crandell7 days ago

    Well, I picked the right (or maybe wrong) time to read this one. Just came in from a drive. Fortunately, no trains were involved. Good one, Kelli!

Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenWritten by Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.