Poets logo

Rivers Erode

Family is bonded by DNA but not bound by it.

By Tessa Glasgow Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
photo by en-belitsky via iStock

You say we’re family

As if that should mean

Something to me,

But I recognize manipulation

Even when it’s hidden

In a sugar-coated apology.

We might be bonded

By the same

Rivers of iron

That circulate inside of us,

But we are NOT bound

By the DNA

That we have no control of.

It’s ironic to me…

This bloodline

And river analogy,

Because naturally

Rivers have a tendency

To erode their homes,

The same way

You have decomposed

The home I once held for you

In my bones.

And it’s ironic to me

That rivers naturally

Carve deep

And permanent trenches

Into their host…

That rivers naturally

Break away

From coexistence

To forge forks

Along the paths

Of least resistance.

So, you can preach to me

About the same rivers

We share internally,

But I will not be swayed…

I will take a page

From the rivers

That rage in nature,

Because they know

That it’s okay

To go your separate ways,

When it’s too hard to stay

In the same place.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Tessa Glasgow

35. Stay at home mom. Dark Poetess

IG: @deadofnightpoetry

My debut poetry collection, “Wildfire From Hell: Poetry and Prose,” is now available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.