Poets logo

Delicate Heartbeats

I understand the ocean

By Tessa Glasgow Published 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Photo by tash:) via Flickr

I understand

The push and pull

Of the ocean…

The rise and fall

Of the tides

And how exhausting

It can be

To constantly change

From low to high.

And I know how isolating

It can be

To roll towards

The security

Of the shore

With a stoic strength,

Just to break

At the feet

Of people

Who only want

To see pretty things.

I know what it’s like

To reach for the asylum

Of the beach,

Just to retreat

Back into the safety of me

Instead of accepting relief.

And I know what it’s like

To be home

To a sunless depth

That will always be

Just out of lights reach…

What it’s like

To be seen

As gentle and serene

And in the same breath

Described as merciless

And unforgiving.

Like me,

The sea hides

Beneath a sparkling sheath,

But behind the mystery

We both house the pulse

Of such delicate heartbeats.

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Tessa Glasgow

35. Stay at home mom. Dark Poetess

IG: @deadofnightpoetry

My debut poetry collection, “Wildfire From Hell: Poetry and Prose,” is now available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.