Poets logo

Ritual

I miss the way...

By Frankie MartinelliPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
8
Ritual
Photo by Max Bender on Unsplash

I miss the way you'd burst through my door

Lockdown has a lot to answer for

I missed you as soon as you stopped calling

Even now the rain is still falling

Beg you now

Please burst through my door,

and we'll say no more

Hearing your name in my day-to-day

Is like a ritual

It's habitual

I know sometimes you don't like it,

but I think it's beautiful

Just know as I write this

You have my soul

I miss the way you'd call me a fool

You'd never understand my reasons for loving you

I missed you as soon as you stopped calling

Even now the rain is still falling

Beg you now

Call me a fool

I just want you

Hearing your name in my day-to-day

Is like a ritual

It's habitual

I know sometimes you don't like it,

but I think that it's beautiful

Just know as I write this

You have my soul

love poemsheartbreak
8

About the Creator

Frankie Martinelli

Musician.

All work is copyrighted, and is my own.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    This felt so relatable and the yearning was so intense. Loved your poem!

  • Mariann Carroll4 months ago

    This is definitely an obsession, very intense poetry. I would title this poem, Missing you badly

  • Kendall Defoe 4 months ago

    Didn't I hear this song back in the 90s? Excellent work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.