Poets logo

Right Behind You!

A Thriller-style free verse.

By Grz ColmPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 3 min read
12
Right Behind You!
Photo by William Daigneault on Unsplash

Just a little nighttime stroll,

To shake off the ickiness of the night before,

Just a little walk back home,

Not too far.

Needing a time to ponder and

A time needed to muse on the last 11 hours,

What exactly happened?

One minute she was having a good time,

The next she was waking up in bed with Fred,

In bed with Fred,

There’s one soft-core novel she certainly didn’t want to read again.

Fred, of all people, with his droopy left eye and tough demeanour,

Masking the fact that his head looked like it had been

bounced around a few too many times

In a game of basket-Fred-ball,

Was I drugged, she thought?

My drink. Surely. She tried to think back.

All she could remember was waking up in his apartment, while

He still slept - so she quietly left,

Walking down the silent street at 3 o’clock in the morning,

No one was around,

A tapping sound she heard —

Could be anything.. probably even in her head,

How does one distinguish sounds in their head versus reality?

The brain’s recognition of the sounds feels much the same.

And then suddenly right behind her,

He tapped her on the shoulder,

She swerved around and gasped.

“Fred!” she said, “You took me by surprise.”

“I have that way with women,” he chuckled.

She noticed he was holding a long metal bar and

Her pulse quickened; her head became hot,

“You left Luce. Why did you leave? You know how I feel about you.”

“Please Fred, I’ve gotta get home. You were a great lay,

unexpectedly so, but I must be going,” she said,

as she stepped back - preparing to make a run for it.

“You’re not going anywhere Luce.”

Why didn’t she have any pepper spray or something. What a fool.

Always be prepared for the unexpected, she thought.

As she turned around to run,

Fred swung the metal bar at the back of her legs

Watching her fall to the foot path.

He climbed on top of her - pinning her down.

“Get off”, she screamed. “Help! Help!”

Her pleas were unanswered, for there was no one around.

He slammed the back of her head into the footpath.

Her head swam and then went black.

“You’re coming home to live with me Luce” -

“I’m sure this will be the beginning of a wonderful relationship.”

*

Quick note: I started watching “Promising Young Woman” again last night so this morning some of the film’s ideas must have still been in my consciousness. I was actually trying to type up an inversion poem but my damn fingers typed this lol! Anyway, it’s a great film if you haven’t seen it. It has a lot to say about gender and social issues in a stylish way. Also, while this is not exactly original, there are some other great writers I’ve remembered that have done something in a similar vein, but with far more nuance than I!

Here are two pieces by Hannah and Paul that I enjoyed which you may have missed: ⬇️

- Thanks for reading. If you liked it, consider hitting the heart, commenting or subscribing for more to encourage my future poems, short stories and reviews. Many thanks

social commentaryFree VerseCONTENT WARNING
12

About the Creator

Grz Colm

Film and TV reviews, 🎞 as well as short stories and free verse poems.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 13 days ago

    Yikes would never happen in my world. 🥋🥋

  • Test3 months ago

    Impressive work! Well written!

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    Dark, Grz. Dark. Poor old Luce. Fred's a nutbar. I hope he keeps her somewhere with light.

  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    I am guessing he drugged her, but i agree with invisible below, get him in his sleep ah hahahahaha. Even if she is a ghost now.

  • In fifty years she tell the grandkids grandpa Fred was very tenacious lol. Seriously her only chance is to pretend to be in love and kill him in his sleep.

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    Ha, I was thinking this reminded me of Roulette! Argh, its a terrifying world if you let it creep in.

  • BasketFredBall!! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 I've not watched Promising Young Woman but I've watched a long YouTube video about it where the YouTuber stories it A to Z, so I know the story. Anyway, she should have just kicked Fres in the balls. And when he's down, just keep stomping on his balls. Bonus points if it ruptures 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • Mother Combs3 months ago

    chills

  • k eleanor3 months ago

    The story's pace is well-crafted, keeping the reader engaged until the end. Your ability to capture emotions and build tension is amazing. It was a thrilling read!

  • That Fred! Still thinks he's living in Bedrock. What, did he fall asleep for a millennium or two? (That would explain his face.) Will there be more to this story?

  • Lana V Lynx3 months ago

    I liked your verse and as I was reading it, I also thought of Promising Young Woman, one of my favorite films.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.