Poets logo

Ridge-line at Dusk

Wanderings

By SchmalzPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
2
Ridge-line at Dusk
Photo by Alexandr Podvalny on Unsplash

I stood a top a ridge

As dusk was creeping in

But the half-light shined through my eyes

Blaming myself and your wicked pride

I drank and I sang some pretty lies

So now here I sit watching moon rise

Reflections on all of those good times

So I sat on the ridge

When the moon was high

Hummingbird hovered by my side

Your absence still hurts my foolish pride

But it's not your fault nor is it mine

When the hummingbird flew far away

I found a smile I could not hide

I walked from the ridge

Behind was pale moonlight

No vengeance left in my weary heart

I will roam this forest forever

Searching for something never been found

With some grin my solitude brings about

Singing with the birds with tear stained eyes

I sat on a ridge top

Watching dawn come around

nature poetry
2

About the Creator

Schmalz

Welcome to my page! I am a writer whose interests are vast and believes in the art of the word. In my writing you will find Non-Fiction, Fiction, and poetry in pursuit of the value of language.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    Your poem was so poignant and wonderful. Sad yet liberating at the dame time. Beautifully written!

  • Arslan6 months ago

    Superb

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.