Poets logo

Returning is a love language

Serendipity pt.2 from another dimension

By Mesh ToraskarPublished 9 months ago Updated 7 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - August 2023
26
In the mirror, a hand presses against a hand. Open palm to open palm.

An abstract, free-verse poem. Before reading this, I highly recommend reading this first -

FADE IN:

INT. BEDROOM - DUSK

My hands, warmed with memory again, begin my absence. I am taking the scenic route this time, a leisurely stroll down the mirrored avenue. Each reflection claims my body, shrieking in the darkness—this is you, and this too, all you—with a grand desperation of an exorcist.

I am returning to the start again with an audacious leap in time. You’ll have to grant me that. Grant me the sympathy for I am facing the misfortune inherent in returning. I have bled openly but by now you also know of the blood behind my own teeth.

Was it romance or just tragedy?

Am I here?

Are you?

BEGIN FEVER DREAM:

INT/EXT. LIMINAL SPACE - MEMORY

You are here, so listen, and by that I mean look

there, my absence, soon to be bright and sutured, like the sky violet with tenderness.

ME:

“Returning to the the start of our memory, it is drudgery I can’t be rid of”

YOU:

“Don't feel alone. Nature is an unhinged woman too, cursed to a lifetime of love for repetition. A painter confined to recreating her own masterpieces. Dawn, dusk, dawn and repeat.”

ME:

“Ever wonder if Ouroboros had a choice? Will the serpent get another chance or is it forever cursed to a life of symbolism, standing in for something other than the self?

YOU:

“I doubt it minds. Don’t we all want to wake up one day and find that life’s perpetuity suddenly has meaning? A sense of grandeur larger than this limited flesh? That this drudgery and disdain have been in service all along, to some quiet sanctity. That the morning light that pierces your windows is but a god playing catch with her sun?”

You ask me to consider repetition not a drudgery but refrain. Continuation is the very proof of something to continue for - a white sheet draped over a ghost. Ghost that calls itself hope and places itself just a block away into the next day.

Even the moon that night tells us to return is to be divine.

“All I ever wanted was to stand next to you at the ball, the windows flung open, people’s laughter, warm lights, to blunt the rough overeager edges of longing that has etched us here, against that wall, to look at you and to know, without words, that it was time to leave.”

You said you loved me and I knew I didn’t have to continue to be the sum of my misfortunes anymore.

END FEVER DREAM.

INT. BEDROOM - DAWN

Everyday, waking up on my bed, I emerge as fragments of myself - and I revel in this rediscovery. In repetition, I reclaim myself, make myself - mine again. So this stroll is the journey to refind my body. The body that is my last destination. The body that carries scars from untold stories, scars crooning my sole roadmap homeward, like cartographers of their own lands, suffused with magic.

The dawn - is it soliloquy, or just tragedy?

In a life so cataclysmically unending and deliciously brief, continuing becomes one’s singular duty.

surreal poetrynature poetrylove poemsheartbreak
26

About the Creator

Mesh Toraskar

A wannabe storyteller from London. Sometimes words spill out of me and the only way to mop the spillage is to write them down.

"If you arrive here, remember, it wasn't you - it was me, in my longing, who found you."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock9 months ago

    Those constant cycles through which we turn, enduring, whether as gift or burden.

  • Marvel michael9 months ago

    top content, keep making more like this. and make sure to check my articles too, thank you. I love it

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Spectacular & stunning!!! Love this!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Absolutely beautiful, once again. Congrats on the TS.

  • Jacks sparrow9 months ago

    It's a lovely stories😄😄

  • Aynur Yusifova9 months ago

    Congratulations on your Top Story

  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    Yes! 🎊 👏👏👏

  • Congratulations on your Top Story❤️📝👌🎉

  • I’m not talented enough to critique this so I will just voice my appreciation and tell you that you are writing the story that my heart is stuck on… it’s so deeply resonating and I’m grateful for this

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    I agree with Mackenzie; I am left thinking I just read something I shouldn't have, as if life's questions were all answered and made inconsequential. This was glorious, and I must return to understand it better. I loved this. I feel like you are on another plane than us mortals

  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    🫥 (My brain right now, but there is a smile.) I need more time than I have to express how beautiful this is. Of course you published it while I’m working. I’ll put a pin in my soon to be lengthy reply, and leave you with this: “You are here, so listen, and by that I mean look there, my absence, soon to be bright and sutured, like the sky violet with tenderness.” My jaw is on the floor, my stomach dropped. I’ll never look at a violet sky the same way again! And this: “ The dawn - is it soliloquy, or just tragedy?” If you could hear my inner voice rendered a stammering mess by this. Holy wow. Especially given the meeting of the two pieces, this question is beyond amazing. 🤗🤯 Back in a few hours for more commentary and love…💕 So happy you posted today.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.