Poets logo

Resentment of you

I Hate You

By KenyaPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Resentment of you
Photo by Mattia Ascenzo on Unsplash

I hate it when you yell at me. Tell me you don’t care. Act as if nothing I say phases you. Then spin it as if I am trying to make you look a certain way. You allow your ex's opinion and ways to control your perception of me. Last I checked they were your ex for a reason!

We argue all the time when certain people are near. Discord hurts the both of us. Could you just allow me to be more clear and concise? I have been through hell and back to understand the correct usage of my words. Yet, somehow through the years of my mothers twisted version of reality I lost it.

So when we fuss and fight, I search deep in my thoughts for the correct expression. This is not meaningless to me. I ask you then, what does this relationship mean to you? Are we so miniscule to each other that we have to yell, berate, and cuss?

Oh my, we have lost sight of what we founded our relationship on. An eternity of love, lifetimes of memories, and centuries of passion to continue the fight to find one another. Most of these situations could be avoided with proper communication. An understanding of where the other is coming from can recreate the circle of love and trust.

So I hate it when you allow yourself the space to demand and control every aspect of a discussion. Because you force me to think like you. You want me to act as you do and breathe like you. It is almost as if I am not good enough for you the way I am. So guess what, accept me or leave me. I'll be better off alone.

I should have never allowed myself to fall in love with someone who was capable of so much hatred. All because he cannot leave his trauma in the past and grow. He will not allow what we have waited our entire existence to blossom into the most beautiful connection again. I hate you for holding us back!

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Kenya

Writing has always been my hobby. English class solidified my love for it back in 2007. I dont really have a specific area I like to stay in when writing. But, I am getting into short stories and challenging myself for longer stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.