Poets logo

Renga

Renga I did with the Oxford Poetry Library

By Chloe GilholyPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
4

A renga is a collaborative poem that follows the haiku and couplet format. In the workshop in Oxford, we started by going through some haikus and then couplets and read some traditional contemplate renga forms. Our renga was done going around in the circle. It was a lovely experience because even though our voices are unique, everything connected together. The bold text is my contribution.

I love how leaves fall

In the blue of November

In the drift of clouds

☁️

A haze of questions leave me

The answer is soft rainfall

🌧️

Love sees reveal to all

In the hue I remembers

A sound falls into

🌊

Who are we to each other,

You say, I say, and we fail

🌸

But keep soft footsteps

Through fallen nature and gold leaves

Crunches, echoing

🍂

Can we walk together in

The silence of leaves and thought

🍃

Throughout the whist mist

Fiji-san gave her blessing

To travelers’ feet

🏔️

They walked on happy with their care

Into the most and clouds

The swallows have left l, what a long way to go

There’s hope in their return

🦅

Geese honk in cold night

I lie in sleepless flight breath

Carried on their wings

🪿

Sea of eyes darting my way

Following me in shades

performance poetry
4

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen16 days ago

    This is really beautiful Chloe. I saw Hannah's Renga articles and found this one which was done prior to hers. I love libraries and all the fun stuff in the summer.

  • Mariann Carroll6 months ago

    Awesome 👍🏾 Thank you for sharing the sample picture as well ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.