Poets logo

Renewed Devotion

Peace does not come from the world

By Emily DickersonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Renewed Devotion
Photo by Thérèse Westby on Unsplash

Each bead is an anchor

A tether from my fingers

To my mind

To my soul

To my heart

The cool chains

Strong and true

Once a day

My daily dues

Not to bind my body to the earth

But my soul to the sky

To elevate my mind

To restart my heart

And set me apart

From complainers so weary

Of their lives so dreary

Where I find my hope

Is not in the slopes

Of mountain vacations

Or the thrill of dope

These beads are my strength

My patience for days

The silver medallion

Worth more than galleons

The detailed crucifix

Provides my daily fix

For the longing for more

Every little chore

Steals joy from me

No more

Over Scriptures I pore

And the Spirit outpours

Wisdom so sure

As to never bore

Each bead of pure white

Is the light of my life

The five meditations

Are sweetest medication

The fifty repetitions

Do better than clinicians

To cure every ailment

Offered by the salesmen

Who sell pleasant lies

The beads remind me that trials

Are blessings in disguise

Snatch the scales from my eyes

My constant mission

Is no intermission

For my daily prayer

Brings weather quite fair

On my knees

I could grieve

But songs of praise surely please

The ears of the Creator

Who takes away my strife

And sufferings so rife

And now I live to see

After death a new life.

inspirational

About the Creator

Emily Dickerson

Hopeful and young, full of love. From my heart high praises are sung. For this reason I am here: to love and serve and bring all souls near. <3

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Emily DickersonWritten by Emily Dickerson

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.