Poets logo

Reminding Myself

Poem

By Rilee AreyPublished 4 days ago 1 min read
Reminding Myself
Photo by Tyler Nix on Unsplash

I keep telling myself I am a changed woman,

Always forward never back,

Reclaiming my heart's unresolved bits,

from the loss of the past,

I keep reminding myself that I am no longer mentally matching,

With every man I meet,

That I will just have casual conversations,

With no desire to seek,

I often see something that reminds me of the past of one of them

Like a snag in my hem,

I think of what they are up to,

Think about how they were once someone I knew,

How I crave the feeling of knowing someone as I did with them,

While convincing myself it's not time to date anyone,

I download a dating app,

Hoping to land on a match,

That lasted more than one night's conversation,

Hoping for a spark of witty banter sensation,

But every non-response,

Is a reminder coded in nuance,

That it is not my time,

How you cannot force something to feel right,

I try to find the daily reminders in everything I see,

Reminders to keep going forward, to keep being me.

excerpts

About the Creator

Rilee Arey

I am a professional life romantizer, with a heart that feels everything deeply. I am a moment collector through words and the ways around us.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Sweileh 8884 days ago

    Thank you for the interesting and delicious content. Follow my story now.

  • This content encapsulates the complexities of personal growth and the importance of staying true to oneself, thank you very much for sharing, love your works, hope to read more, subscribed.

  • T. Licht4 days ago

    so simply written but so well done.

Rilee AreyWritten by Rilee Arey

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.