Poets logo

Reminders

There is a little bit of you in everything I see

By A. NguyenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Reminders
Photo by Kyle Glenn on Unsplash

In everyday that passes

My eyes look for you

In the little things:

Pitter pattering of rain on glass,

the dull glow of the moon

and her twinkling stars,

the sweet tangy taste of strawberries,

warmth of blankets sat by the fireplace,

and the peculiar scent of a comfort hoodie.

The gentle fall of first snow,

Crashing waves in the distance

With sand warming your feet,

bright reds and yellows of fallen leaves,

Or blowing dandelions.

All reminders of you.

“don’t hurt yourself, yeah”

“hugs make everything better”

“I’ll protect you.”

“No~ I didn’t say this to make you cry”

And your favorite line

“If you’re ever having a hard time,

come find me… I'll listen.”

The list grows longer

as the heart grows fonder

but the associations made

were too easy for my liking.

I guess you’re fated to live in

my thoughts and stir my heart.

Leaving a reminder

that shattered…

doesn’t mean

broken.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

A. Nguyen

A writer at heart who wants to share my works. I want to evoke emotion in people when they read my writing but I won't ever know if I can, if I don't put anything out into the world so this is my first step :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.