Poets logo

Reminder for the Vocal Writing Awards

Now or never- Don’t forget this part!

By Donna ReneePublished 7 months ago 2 min read
29
Reminder for the Vocal Writing Awards
Photo by Anne Nygård on Unsplash

Hey, friends!

Today is the day, last chance to enter the Vocal Writing Awards. I should probably hurry up and decide if/what categories to enter but —

Just a reminder that today is also the last day for your loyal readers OFF of Vocal to create a free Vocal account that will be ELIGIBLE TO VOTE in the Vocal Writing Awards. There is a link to more info about this below.

First though— I’m absolutely not suggesting that you go hound all of your random internet friends or followers to make Vocal accounts (that feels kinda gross and inauthentic) but if you, like me, have a couple of close friends who you are always sending your story links to and who you know would want to support you if your story or poem makes the short list, now is your chance to get them to finally join Vocal.

If your story or poem doesn’t make the short list? Well, at least now they have a Vocal account and can subscribe to you and your favorite creators (and find their own favorites too!)… and then you can stop texting them your links every time you publish!

Good luck if you decide to enter! ☺️

Side note, I almost didn’t post this because I don’t want to give spammers any more ideas and as my friend told me when I asked her opinion, “spammers gonna spam” 🫣🤷🏼‍♀️ … but in order for them to use this to any advantage, they’d first have to have a story or poem make the judge curated short list… and if anyone is that talented then they probably aren’t spamming in the first place.

Hmmm this is not 600 words and I’m done rambling so here is a poem so I can stick it in that community…

~~

Please don’t be a spammer

Spamming doesn’t work.

Good luck in the contest-

But please don’t be a jerk.

~~

social commentaryhow to
29

About the Creator

Donna Renee

Hi! Thanks for reading! My hobbies include making coffee, drinking coffee, and starting to write a story and then rage-deleting it when I get the slightest bit frustrated.

Work in Progress: WOWH, cozy mystery (paranormal elements)

INSTAGRAM

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Dana Crandell7 months ago

    Well, I'm glad I searched for some writing awards information today, because I had somehow missed this piece! So now I'm coming in a bit late to say thanks for the reminder and the suggestion about readers! Last, but definitely not least, I loved the little poem at the end. Well done, Donna!

  • Harmony Kent7 months ago

    I loved the poem you stuck in at the end, Donna! Great message, and a useful reminder 💕🙂

  • Kenny Penn7 months ago

    Lmao the poem at the bottom is great!! Good luck with the awards, Donna!

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Hee hee. The poem at the bottom. Perfect..

  • Donna Fox (HKB)7 months ago

    Hahaha!! I loved this Donna, you have such a great sense of humour!! You forgot one flaw about the spammers but this is probably low hanging fruit (good thing I'm short): if they had friends to text the articles too, they wouldn't need to spam us either!! 😜

  • and then you can stop texting them your links every time you publish! I misread publish as rubbish and was so shocked as to why you’re attacking us like this 🤣🤣🤣🤣 Then I saw it was publish. I gotta get my eyes fixed. Lol! Also, your friend is right, stammers gonna spam. I saw Alex Mittelman put this emoji 🤮🤮🤮 as a reply to the spam comments on his piece. I'm gonna follow his footsteps in the future! You're so sweet for this reminder. What would we do without you. You're the best! 🥰🥰🥰

  • Thanks for keeping us on our toes, Donna.

  • Alexander McEvoy7 months ago

    I hope you find the right stories to enter into the contest! Certainly I've added my share to them lol Best of luck to you! (Spammers are the worst)

  • Paul Stewart7 months ago

    Great reminders...Ruth and I sorted our entries earlier today. Not entering as many as I wanted previously, but, we shall see what will be and that poem at the end was funny! Well done, pal!

  • Mackenzie Davis7 months ago

    Thank you for reminding me about this! Also, that poem made me chuckle. 😆

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    Good to know! Thank you!

  • Mark Gagnon7 months ago

    Thanks for the reminder, but I've already decided not to participate. This isn't sour grapes it's being a realist. In my almost 2 years on Vocal, I have entered almost every challenge. I have never made it to the honorable mention level let alone the top 3. Apparently, my writing doesn't have whatever it is the judges are looking for. No need to waste more money. Good luck with your entries!

  • Thank you for the reminder, Donna! I wish I had made more time to nominate the work of my friends, but time sort of slipped away from me. Best of luck!

  • Test7 months ago

    May luck and opportunity always find their way to you, lighting up your path to greatness. Best of luck in all your endeavors!"

  • Awesome ✨ 👍Thanks for sharing❗

  • Stephanie Hoogstad7 months ago

    Thanks for the reminder! And don’t worry about the spammers; they’re going to find a way to spam no matter what you say. 🙄

  • Dana Stewart7 months ago

    Spammers gonna spam, lol. Good article Donna Renee!

  • That’s an excellent last minute tip to give! I hadn’t thought of that! Thanks for this. And thank you for telling off the spammers.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.