Poets logo

Relevance

a poem

By Heather HublerPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
27
Created with NightCafeStudio

I found my youth shoved in a box today,

rotting in the attic, stuffed behind old clothes

and plastic decorations.

It was covered in dust and memories

and loss.

Bittersweet moments hung from the rafters,

a lifetime near forgotten

til I stumbled on those relics from the past–

guitar strings perfectly in tune

lifting harmonies of angels.

My eyes burn with pleasure and longing as

I sway to a soundtrack that completes some

part of me left behind as 'life' forced its way in.

The treasure trove of younger years pulls at my mind,

a tickle, a tease of who I used to be.

What happened to that girl?

How could she have forgotten the things

we used to live and breathe for,

that set our soul on fire?

It feels like she's been petrified.

Molded into a cheap knick-knack

wrapped in yellowed paper,

nostalgic but antiquated.

I want her to be relevant again.

I need her to be relevant again.

If only that box wasn't so heavy...

____________________________________________

Thank you for reading!

sad poetry
27

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (21)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    Oh, this one hit so close to home today. Like just what the doctor ordered. Thank you for using the down to bring the up and give the day a boost.

  • Mariann Carroll9 months ago

    I read this on Facebook but was not able to make a comment. I don’t sign in on Facebook for vocal. Excellent poetry 💗

  • Karissa E.L. Cuff9 months ago

    Woah, such symbolism and meaning here. Thank you for sharing

  • Nostalgic but antiquated. I loved that line so much! I too wish the box wasn't so heavy. Loved your poem so much!

  • Meg9 months ago

    Beautifully written!

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    Uh those boxes take us back! I too feel like that often. I’m obsessed with nostalgia.. it kind of prevents me from living in the NOW at times. I loved your poem. I wrote something similar recently, but haven’t posted it as yet. It’s not very Poetic though. I liked your images and just the feeling of this one a lot! ☺️👏

  • Gina C.9 months ago

    Aw, this hits home so hard 🥹❤️ The time is here and then it's not - how quickly everything passes. I've also been going through a lot of my old stuff recently. Nostalgia is real. Once again, you you've penned magic here, my friend 🥹 Lovely, sentimental poem!

  • Subhi Najar9 months ago

    wonderful

  • Gerald Holmes9 months ago

    Man, this is so deep and so true. That last line says it all. I just love this!

  • Harmony Kent9 months ago

    I love be the analogy in this and feel your words deeply. Fantastic, Heather 💕🙂

  • Last summer I began going through boxes left over from high school college & a little beyond, hoping to decide what I wanted to save & what could be thrown. I felt this one, Heather. I'm still trying to recover from all the memories, foolishness, mistakes & losses dredged up last summer. I felt this one.

  • One that I had missed but a beautiful poem, and I have just noticed Kafka's name (an influence on my writing) so need to check that out as well

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    Beautifully written! The poem's sentiment definitely resonated with me! The world is still our oyster! Great job!

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    Heather, this is my favorite poem from you. Memories are here to remind us of what we have accomplished.

  • J. S. Wade9 months ago

    Beautiful melancholic poem Heather. The last line kicks - “ If only that box wasn't so heavy...“ 🥰

  • Veronica Coldiron9 months ago

    This stirred the cobwebs of my own memories. This was a very connective poem!

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Oh. My. God. I don't think I've related to anything more than this in my (what feels like) centuries on earth. You've outdone yourself yet again, Empress. Had me hooked from the first line. Absolutely fantastic piece. Bravo, my friend. 👏

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    I loved the line and description, "It feels like she's been petrified. Molded into a cheap knick-knack" Ahh, memories of the past will always trigger emotions. Hope most of them were good ones.

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    wonderful piece, thank you for sharing

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Awesome!!! Loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.