Poets logo

Regrets

Series: Fragments of my mind

By CyrusPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
6
Regrets
Photo by Matthew Henry on Unsplash

3 February, 2022, night

Regrets

Crowded days

Lonely nights

I wish you were by my side

***

Stroke of night

Hold me tight

Pull me in your arms tonight

***

Speed of light

Pace of flight

Blur the lines of time and tide

***

Drunken plight

Lost my might

Pity I let you off my sight.

***

~ End ~

***

    • Short elegy with the persona mourning for the loss of his/her beloved. Tonality is useful in the analysis here to get the key emotion he/she goes through. How the beloved leaves him/her, you decide.
    • Writer's notes: If you love this poem, do remember to share, subscribe and read the rest of my works! Also, any tips are greatly appreciated! Love you guys!
    • If you are interested in joining a community of poets, do join this discord server: The Writer's Tavern

love poemsvintagesurreal poetrysad poetryheartbreakart
6

About the Creator

Cyrus

Welcome to the fragments of my mind. Thoughts. Ideas. All once a chaotic yet artistic mess, before I expanded them into entire, complete poems.

Promote your Vocal articles here for FREE: The Writer's Tavern

Find me on Pinterest here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Ace Melee4 months ago

    Poignant and love the rhyme. It's very beautiful. It's been a while since I have read a short elegy.

  • Test4 months ago

    I love the rhyming in this, it adds something special to an already beautiful piece. Absolutely beautiful and powerful and yearning. Well done.

  • Test4 months ago

    Such a simple but beautiful expression of regret. The rhyming somehow addded to the poignancy ot it 🤍

  • Manisha Dhalani6 months ago

    I liked this. Somehow you framed regret in such a beautiful way!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.