Poets logo

Regrets

We all have them

By Sarah LoydPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
11
Regrets
Photo by Anthony Tran on Unsplash

I have talked about regrets about the past in my poem The Present is a Gift, but I have more thoughts on that subject that needs exploring. So, here we go!

*

Did I lose my chance

Did I waste my life

Am I too old

Am I past my prime

*

These are stupid questions

This much I know

But I can't help to think

That the odds are low

*

The odds of me making it

A dream come true

The odds of me doing

What I'm meant to do

*

Regrets can be painful

The what if

What could've been

Questions hanging on a cliff

*

I should just move on

I'm chained to the past

If I can only break the cuffs

I'll be content at last

Thanks for reading my poem. Check out my other poems on my profile page. Feel free to show your support by clicking the heart, tipping, and subscribing (if you haven't already). You can follow me on Twitter, Mix, Pinterest (@sloydmarie), and various Vocal Facebook groups.

sad poetry
11

About the Creator

Sarah Loyd

I love movies, music, TV, and all things entertaining. I also love to write poetry. Follow me on Twitter @musicl0v3 and on Mix https://mix.com/sarahloyd You can also find me on Pinterest @sloydmarie

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    I agree. Regrets can be imprisonment, but letting go is easier said than done. Great piece.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.