Poets logo

Regret

For my dad.

By Tressa RosePublished 7 months ago โ€ข 1 min read
7
Regret
Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

Regrets

~

We all have them

Some more than others

Some worse, some not so bad.

~

They all eat us alive just the same

Like maggots on a rotting corpse

I could relate that

To last time my dad called me

And I ignored it over something stupid

That's one more time I could have talked to you.

~

How could I have known

I'd get a call less than a week later

Stating you were dying

And they were reaching out to me

For the okay to pull the plug.

~

Fuck you for leaving me to make that choice.

Fuck me for missing that one last call.

~

I wonder what we would have talked about

More about how I'm getting into tarot?

Or maybe how the prison is still treating you like shit,

Maybe we'd reminisce on how we both really miss the girls.

~

I don't know

I think I'm missing you because it's Halloween season

And you loved Halloween.

Well I always miss you,

It's just predominantly heavier right now.

~

Still wish you were here

To see how much I've grown,

The things I've overcome...

You'd be proud.

Thanks for being my rock

Even when you're gone.

heartbreaklove poems
7

About the Creator

Tressa Rose

On a serious self-discovering, soul-searching journey. Breaking myself out of a stagnant shell and reaching out for my dream of being a writer. Small steps but this is my start! Please help me by commenting your feedback, I'd be grateful!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Tressa Rose (Author)7 months ago

    Congrats on top story! This makes me wonder if that's the smell I was smelling when these ants swarmed my kitchen one time... I knew I could smell them!

  • This was so heartbreaking. I'm so sorry this happened to you ๐Ÿฅบ

  • Test7 months ago

    A beautifully written and deeply moving poem that explores the complex emotions of grief and regret.โค๐Ÿ’—๐Ÿงก๐Ÿ’™๐Ÿ–ค๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ‘

  • ๐Ÿฅนโ™ฅ๏ธ๐Ÿ’ฏ๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ‘

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.