Poets logo

Reflections of the self

A journey of self-discovery and acceptance

By thekishorePublished about a year ago 1 min read
7

"Reflections of the self"

In the stillness of the night

I look upon the mirror's sight

And gaze upon the face I see

Is it truly just a reflection of me?

I see the lines etched deep with age

And wonder at the life they've played

A story written on the skin

Of all the joys and all the sin.

But as I look more closely still

I see beyond the flesh and will

And there, beneath the surface deep

I find the secrets I must keep.

For in the eyes that stare back at me

I see my hopes and fears set free

My doubts and dreams all laid bare

In this reflection, truth is there.

I see the strength and will to fight

And all the battles I've denied

The love that's grown and thrived within

And all the love I'll find again.

So as I gaze upon this face

I realize it's not a race

To be the perfect, unmarred me

But to be the best version, truly.

This reflection is not an end

But a beginning, a new trend

To look beyond the flesh and bone

And find the person I've grown.

fact or fiction
7

About the Creator

thekishore

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.