Poets logo

Refiner’s Fire

Malachi 3:2-3

By Cheyenne MercadoPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Refiner’s Fire
Photo by Mohamed Nohassi on Unsplash

A long and lonely road

I walked hopelessly

Never knowing your name

Witnessing your beauty

I ran from your truth

But all along it was you

The light, the right view

Your fire came and I knew

No father to instruct me

My mother fast asleep

You wanted mercy, I saw

Sacrifices I couldn’t keep

In your perfect timing

My soul became sealed

The enemy came for priming

So you could be revealed

Afraid of your wrath

Living in denial

Claiming your name

Dead and defiled

Running from your house

Feeling rejected

My face turned back

To all I had expected

Wandering aimlessly

You remained inside

That mercy still active

I was lost and blind

Then I faced death

You moved in power

Opened my eyes

And set me aflame

I see now, your eyes

Oh, how they’re burning

It was as you had written

To know you more, I’m yearning

Committed to darkness

For your righteous offering

It is you who cleanses

And wills the refining

You make the choice

No others can define

I can hear your voice

I grow on your vine

Your coming for your people

Who will endure?

Fall to your knees weeping

Let the Refiner make you pure

love poemsnature poetryinspirational

About the Creator

Cheyenne Mercado

Secrets hidden behind a lock and key, suddenly his faithful love set me free.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Cheyenne MercadoWritten by Cheyenne Mercado

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.