Poets logo

Reduced Melon

Don't get left on the shelf

By Rachel DeemingPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Reduced Melon
Photo by Kenny Kennethh on Unsplash

Your skin is like a scaly lizard

Who's just about to flake.

The yellow sticker on your nethers

Speaks of your exclusivity

As soon, like Elvis, you will leave the building

For the limo dumpster.

Or have a second chance in the community

At the fridge, maybe

Where a grateful stranger's hands

May fondle you before placing you

Ignominiously next to the tins of soup.

I'm not going to let you go.

Today, you are mine

And I pick you up with just one hand

And give you a squeeze.

Oh, yes.

Still firm.

Ripe and ready to be taken home.

You, my sweet, are mine.

You may be fading,

Your colours muting and

You're shrinking in your increasing age

But when I split you open

You are gorgeous.

I strip you of your pips

And consume.

Delicious.

***

So, ahem, this is a poem about melon which had been reduced in price at the supermarket and was particularly tasty but on reflection, this poem reads more like smut than appreciation. For that, I apologise. It wasn't really my intent but as I kept writing, I thought it was quite funny in some ways, the desire that I declare for this melon and the way I select it, although it's also feels seedy somehow, if that's not a pun too far.

Thanks for stopping by! If you do read it, please do drop a comment as I love it when people drop by and it's always good to interact.

inspirationalFor FunFilthy

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (11)

  • Paris Rosemont4 months ago

    Oh, I love this! Playful use of double entendres! A joy to read! 😄🍈

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Haha. That's great. Although I had a bit of a brain cramp and melon as lemon. So, the part about how sweet and delicious is was, kinds thew me off at first. 🤣

  • Kelsey Clarey5 months ago

    Haha I think the smutty undertones make it even better. Great work!

  • Hahahahaha I'm with Shirley. I didn't realise the smutty side of it until you mentioned it, lol. Anything on clearance makes me very happy! Loved your poem!

  • Sweet & juicy! So long as you're eating it the same day, it should be perfect! I didn't find it smutty at all but rather identified with it thoroughly, being one who's always looking for a bargain & knowing that it's going to be perfect for eating later that day.

  • Shirley Belk5 months ago

    I didn't read any smut until...you mentioned it. lol We should pick our mates better than we pick our fruits, though! lol

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    I definitely read the smut! But in a loving appreciative way! Hey, enjoyment of appetite is a wonderful thing!

  • John Cox5 months ago

    Ahhh, but good food is so sensual. In the Song of Solomon, the writer uses several food references to describe, ahem, various body parts of his beloved. Sometimes I am so thick. Until I read your smut connection, I did not make the connection and had to reread it to join the fun. I loved it!

  • D. J. Reddall5 months ago

    Juicy!

  • Gerard DiLeo5 months ago

    Oh, I don't think this was about a melon at all! Rogue poetery at its best.

Rachel DeemingWritten by Rachel Deeming

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.