Poets logo

Rediscovering the self

An Undeniable Struggle

By valencia mokgothuPublished 7 months ago 1 min read

In the depths of my past, I've lost sight of who I used to be, I'm an empty canvas that awaits inspiration, Yet my uncertainty clouds my creativity.

I embark on a quest to reclaim my identity, She eludes me, hiding in life's intricate design, Amidst the chaos, my identity has slipped away, Left behind as a remnant of a time.

The world around me has done nothing but transformed, I find myself trapped in a state of inertia, A shadow of who I used to be Uncertain of how to break free from this enclosure.

Nostalgia fills my heart for the person I once was But alas time cannot be reversed or rewound. In this realm of ambiguity and doubt I must forge a path where identity is found.

As I navigate through this journey I will encounter obstacles and trials along the way But amidst the challenges there lies growth and wisdom obtained And perhaps with times passage, clarity will have it say.

So let me whole heartedly embrace this expenditure call And welcome all experiences that it may bring forth, For at the conclusion lies a melody uniquely mine And through it, my rediscovered self shall sing.

sad poetryTeenage years

About the Creator

valencia mokgothu

a writer enjoying the purest forms of truths about herself and others

A gift that I never thought I had in the first place

I mostly write poems, and all of them in my own way and form

I enjoy listening to and creating my own

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    This was so profound and poignant! Loved this!

valencia mokgothuWritten by valencia mokgothu

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.