Poets logo

Red Roses

The Sadness Still Remains

By Carol TownendPublished 2 months ago 2 min read
6
Red Roses
Photo by Cody Chan on Unsplash

Silence often communicates words that can't be spoken;

Silence, the only sound I hear while here I stand in the rain,

Teary-eyed while smelling these red roses, which I intend to

place on your grave.

The world around me exists only in the darkness of my heart,

A darkness that has remained since the spirits took you;

I know that you're still watching me from your new, peaceful

home in heaven above.

"At least she's out of pain now," everybody tells me;

They make me feel guilty that I should miss you so much, and

I wish you were still here with me.

I read your gravestone as the heavens above my head open,

Only the rain in my heart is heavier;

I never anticipated that I'd be alone, without you in this world

forever.

I lay these red roses down as thunder echoes around me,

Only, it's not thunder in the sky;

It's the sound of my heart which died with you the minute

I found out we were apart.

As I lay these red roses down on your grave,

I kiss your stone, but I don't say goodbye because that means

losing you forever.

As I lay these red roses down on your grave,

I know I have to let go, though the thought is too much to

think about.

As I lay these red roses on your grave;

I accept that you will never return to our world,

They say that grief gets better over time;

I will never see your smile,

Feel the tender touch of your hand;

or, hear your beautiful voice again.

As I lay these roses on your grave,

I must carry on without you,

Though things will never be the same,

And the sadness remains.

Written with love, for that beautiful best friend I lost a couple of years ago.

My life has not been the same without you.

sad poetryheartbreakFriendship
6

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Amber Van Wort2 months ago

    Grief is such a strange thing to navigate, but poems like this help us realize we are, at least, not alone in the grieving process. Beautiful words, well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.