Poets logo

Red

And a Little Bit of Blue

By Amber SanfilippoPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
18
Picture and Painting by Amber Sanfilippo

Red is the color of the wine

I drink to forget my sorrows.

Realizing in the morning

There aren’t better tomorrows.

Monthly I will always bleed,

with a ferocious, furious fate.

The clock is loudly ticking.

For now, I am twenty-eight.

The blood, it is crimson red

Down below and up on top

From injuries on my face

Blemishes that wouldn’t pop.

I scratch and dig at the skin

Desperate for an answer.

Now my fingernails are red.

This color is a cancer.

I’m enraged, burning hot.

My anger, it is red.

I could fight a war with it,

But I simply stay in bed.

And then I look at you

Smiling from ear to ear

And ask your favorite color,

But Is that “red” I hear?

Of course your favorite color’s red.

You cannot feel my pain.

But is that blue behind your eyes?

I squint, lean in, and strain.

Your eyes, they open wide,

An ocean, so, so deep

Blue and ever changing

With secrets that you keep.

Perhaps I’m not alone in this,

This journey I’m going through.

Perhaps my red could benefit

From a little bit of blue.

surreal poetry
18

About the Creator

Amber Sanfilippo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.