Poets logo

Rearview Mirror

A Monsters Defeat

By Jeffrey SparksPublished 2 years ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - June 2022
18
Rearview Mirror
Photo by Oliur on Unsplash

I needed. I begged. I pleaded.

I asked. I tried.

You lied. I wondered, why?

I knew. I accepted. I grew.

I cried. I hoped. I learned.

I ran. I breathed. I burned.

I had faith in my own abilities.

You left. I thought, OK, bye.

I finally saw what I couldn’t see.

I opened. I got in. I believed, I could start again.

I buckled. I adjusted.

I became accustomed

to an empty passenger seat.

I packed; I drove. My things of old, stacked in the trunk.

In the rearview mirror, you shrunk.

As you disappeared into the horizon.

I came. I saw. I conquered.

I defeated, my monsters.

Thank you for taking the time to Rearview Mirror which was featured as a Vocal Top Story. If you enjoyed this and want to read more, please check out Desert Balloons below.

Likes, comments, subscriptions are all very much appreciated.

inspirational
18

About the Creator

Jeffrey Sparks

Adversity is kindling I choose to burn to keep my hands warm in winter ensuring my words will stretch beyond the years that turn my bones to dust.

Any and all, subscribers, pledges and comments are welcome.

Thanks for reading!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Pavithra Venkatraman2 years ago

    Simple, straight outpouring of thoughts & emotions! Good one...

  • Joe Nasta2 years ago

    "I became accustomed/to an empty passenger seat." yessss

  • Brin J.2 years ago

    I like the simplicity of your literation, it was quite impactful, hitting the key point without needing to be in depth. Not easy to do. I’m inspired.

  • Tamera Staples2 years ago

    I think this cool. It’s nice. It’s fresh, however, I can’t feel you. Take me to the space you’re leaving and allow me to feel you becoming carefree. I want to feel the end of your sentence and the beginning of your new one! Good job though, tremendous potential in this piece.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.