Poets logo

Rearview Mirror

and Down the Up Staircase (or- The other half of Up the Down Staircase that for some reason did not get posted with the original poem, but Down the Up Staircase is shorter, so...)

By Guenneth SpeldrongPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
2

Rearview Mirror

It's easy to tell

My mood

And stress level

By the food I eat.

Homemade food=great day

Healthier fast food =ok day.

Unhealthy fast food= bad day.

With this in mind

I pulled into

McDonald's

That meant it was a terrible day.

I needed my stomach to hurt

To match my mood.

Waiting in line

In my car

I glanced behind me

Using my mirrors

And saw myself there.

A younger me

Different car

Different hair

Different face

But still me.

I turned

To look behind me

But it was only

An empty

Car.

I stared for a long time

But I could only

See her

In my mirror.

I ordered

A drink

Instead of food.

I don't know why.

When I went to pay

I also paid for

Her drink

As well

A little treat from

Her future.

I gave the cashier a note

To give to the next me.

It was a reminder

To take care of

Herself.

I did not look back again

As I drove away.

By Marek Piwnicki on Unsplash

Down the Up Staircase

All around me

Are many paths down

But for now

I gaze out

At the past

Once brightly colored

Now muted to pastels

Are clearly visible from up here

So clear

That I even see myself

In the youths

Sitting on the Sidewalk

As I once did

3 little geese in a row

Contemplating mayhem

Out of boredom

I know them

I am them

One day soon I will burn out

And rise again

From my own ashes

As I have done

Many times before

Until then

I roost

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Guenneth Speldrong

Hello there. I write things. Sometimes good things. Mostly, I write to find myself. If I can entertain you in the process, then that's just the derivative icing on the proverbial cake!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.