Poets logo

Read when you're tired

Note in a Bottle 15: Goodnight

By Joe NastaPublished about a month ago 2 min read

Goodnight,

I'm tired, too, but before I went to sleep I wanted to write this to make sure you knew I am always thinking about you. When I see a flower painted on the sidewalk with a smiley face and a waving leaf or the song you showed me pops up the mini Google Home speaker or I remember the afternoon in Soho we went to the popup marketing event for the mini Google Home speaker and ate the free donuts they gave us. Yeah, I'm thinking about it because it's been way too long that we've known each other and all the usual ways of being together are used up. Still, I need to tell you how much you matter right now before we both go to sleep.

It is actually late so I'll try keeping this short.

How haven't I told you about this yet? I'm writing a book. Yes, a real one this time! I have a deadline each month. I write an entire story and send it to my editor and she trusts my skill to deliver a piece of a book that the publisher will put out at the end of the process. I've done similar things on Vocal with my Daddy Issues series (you probably remember, lol) -- writing a story once a month, petal to the metal, just letting it live blemished and all once I've finished it. Feels good. Challenging. Still hope it brings a tiny burst of joy or lesson or care or anger or cry or whatever to the little person on the other side of the internet reading it. Except now it's going to be in a really published book that people can hold in their hands and smell with their noses. That's going to be so nice. Incredibly thankful.

Okay, sleepy babe. I remember what you shared with me. We'll figure out a way for you to show me that special thing and we can go to the restaurant you really like. For now just remember that we are going to get to know each other more and more, which will feel so special and nice no matter what happens next.

I made a videopome for the judge of the Vocal After the Parade Poetry Challenge with her book, which I got as a finalist lol. Really thought you might like it so wanted to share since I told her about you, too. Lines that made me think of you:

They staggered around, laughing, pretending

to be free. But this wasn’t Paris. Paris isn’t Paris.

The different ways we sleep, the different smells you have in the morning, the way time feels as it clicks by softly and carefully are realizations that bring me so much joy. I'm endlessly thankful to know you as we continue to learn and grow together. Your happiness keeps me going, dear friend.

Get some slep,

Joe

P.S. Congrats on your move

P.P.S. Hang out with Amanda from TikTok for me

Gratitude

About the Creator

Joe Nasta

hungry

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Joe NastaWritten by Joe Nasta

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.