Poets logo

Reach

to the other side

By ChrisAnn AllenPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Reach
Photo by Gift Habeshaw on Unsplash

The sunset shines its eye brightest

Not after rains that were the lightest

But when dark clouds were the tightest

The skies create their show.

The peacock spreads its tailfeathers

Even through the storm he weathers

Unleashing all those nasty tethers

His neck knows no bow.

That demon scratching at my spine

All he wants is blood of mine

How he knows I am not thine?

I hide beneath the snow.

Then stretch my arms up to the sky

And hold them dangerously high

Screaming, “This is not how I’ll die!!!”

And reach above the woe.

Through a drench of sweat I wake

My body shudders, roughly shakes

So grateful that I did not break

My soul now free to flow.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

ChrisAnn Allen

Former newspaper journalist gone rogue.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.