Poets logo

Us

Wolf Moon

By ChrisAnn AllenPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Us
Photo by Alyssa Boobyer on Unsplash

Last night

Sleep slept me

And the brilliant wolf moon stared me down

Until my subconscious could resist her piercing golden gaze no longer

She grabbed the scruff of my neck and swung me into the stars

Where I collided with you

For the first time in eons.

We raced comets across multiple milky ways

Floated through unexplored astral planes

To finally end off in the dark embrace of that

Same

Black

Hole

The one that ate us alive all those years ago

Until you didn’t recognize me

And I could not see you

As anything

More than a shadow

Of what we once were.

But this time is different

I will never know your name

Yet your presence is illuminated by her light

So bright

That I know we will never forget

Us.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

ChrisAnn Allen

Former newspaper journalist gone rogue.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.