Poets logo

Rape

Based on The Girl with the Dragon the Tattoo

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 27 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - July 2024
Rape
Photo by Jr Korpa on Unsplash

I am the ghost Rebecca case,

Don't you obsess over it, over me

I am the ghost that haunts with real blood and fire-breath

I am the case that can not be cracked

My blood lies in a dried-up pool beneath my feet
I scream until the screams run out of me

I dream until the dream runs out of me

I run until the running is beaten out of me

You raped my mind, before my body

Yes, raped.

I felt dead in my veins as they were pressed into submission

Deep wells of a new person without a name

The name was whipped from her lips

Stale. False promises. Stale.

Inhale-Pinch-Cry stopped.

I am the case you will not crack.

Blackout

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley: Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon: Kindle.

The Job, The Space Between Us, The Unlikely Bounty and Atonement published by JMS Books this year!!

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto next year!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (20)

  • Denelsia Walker20 days ago

    Masterpiece ✨✨✨✨✨

  • Tina D'Angelo21 days ago

    Congratulations on the Top Story!!

  • Cheryl E Preston24 days ago

    Very sad. It elicits emotion. Thanks for sharing.

  • Sarah Parker24 days ago

    What an intensely excellent poem.

  • Kodah24 days ago

    I wanted to write a story about this same topic. But I didn't think Vocal would've approved it. Congratulations on your top story! This was powerful! 💌

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Haunting yet beautiful 🩷

  • Terrifying and thought provoking. Oh, and congrats on top story.

  • Cathy holmes25 days ago

    Wow. That is powerful. Congrats on the TS.

  • Lamar Wiggins25 days ago

    Really excellent and haunting work!!! Congrats, Melissa!

  • Liam Storm25 days ago

    Really powerful poem!! Very well deserved top story! Congrats

  • Gina C.25 days ago

    Oh my...your words are as powerful as ever here! This one will sit with me for a while. You are so talented :) Congrats on Top Story!

  • Dawnxisoul393art25 days ago

    Your words evoke a sense of empathy and admiration for your courage and tenacity, wonderful!

  • angela hepworth25 days ago

    So emotional and utterly powerful.

  • Paul Stewart25 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story, Melissa. Was reluctant and then forgot to read this when it first was published. I think because of the subject matter - but as ever, you pull no punches, and stopped me in my tracks with the eloquence of your words. Powerful writing, Melissa! Well done!

  • Cheryl E Preston26 days ago

    This is a very inciteful poem. thanks for sharing.

  • Ameer Bibi27 days ago

    feeling sad for your depression and anxiety I can feel you sending love 💓

  • I know what it feels to have your mind raped. I'm so sorry you went through this 🥺 Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Kendall Defoe 27 days ago

    I was a little nervous about reading this one. I hope that this never happened to you and that it is a way for you to work out these emotions on the page. But I thank you for this. A very powerful piece of work.

  • ROCK 27 days ago

    I have frozen in my reading tracks; it's so harsh and painfully penned. You pulled off the fine art of fear.

Melissa IngoldsbyWritten by Melissa Ingoldsby

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.