Poets logo

Rain

a story

By Shannon LoewenPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Rain
Photo by Michael Emono on Unsplash

It happened again

I saw you and heard you

Walked right beside you

*

I drove through the rain

You weren’t there at first

You didn’t respond to my text

*

I drove over again (why can’t I let go?)

This time I saw you

You moved inside

Then you started to leave

I barely had time to catch you

*

I came to your door

I was let in

You greeted me... with dread?

*

I returned your book

We talked as if there were no pages between us

*

We wandered the hall

You shared your craftsmanship

I was proud of you, and you were, too

You asked if I’d seen

I said once, used “we”

It hung in the air

Untouched, but there

Almost offensive

Pensive

We walked

*

You asked if I had any projects to come

I actually did

I was cast as a tribute

*

What else can I say?

You asked, “Can she stay?”

Why was I seated beside you?

Why not your fiancé?

*

The air hung heavy with questioning

Why was I there? Why not refused entry?

Hospitality hurt

*

She smiled so beautifully

No wonder you’re happy

I couldn’t amount

To someone like her

*

You’ve aged, it seems

You’ve wearied, of me

I keep coming back to you

In dreams

*

The best I can do

Is write poems to process

*

These nights when we meet

Have no claim over me

*

~S.L.

surreal poetrysad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Shannon Loewen

Hi there :) I use poetry as a processing tool and only recently began to share my works. Thank you for reading them <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.