Poets logo

Wedding Veil

dreams dashed

By Shannon LoewenPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Wedding Veil
Photo by Jeremy Wong Weddings on Unsplash

The day finally came

All the loved ones were present

And bearing great presents

*

The festivities of vows

Made to one who completes one

Covered in cheer

*

My heart burned within

Radiating anticipation

And joy

To see your smiling face

And call you mine

For life

*

But how could this be

You’re already called “mine”

By another, not me

Is this adultery?

*

My brain conjured it

In the cover of night

So seemingly happy

Ending that was ended before it could be

*

O dreams, catch up!!

This is torture to dwell in

There’s no use in wonderin’

It’s all reached an endin’

*

I see friends, I hear them

I receive congratulatory greetings and wishes

I give my thanks for endless kindnesses

Surely this is how two are meant to be tied into one

With such blessing and cushion

Supplied by loved ones

*

Endless gifts

Kindness

Flaming joy

Wonder

Flashing eyes

Disbelief

Relief

Short lived

*

Love is true

For you

Love was true

For us

Love stays true

In dreams

Except when you avoid me

And seek to ignore me

And make me a past

That can never be seen

Again

*

~S.L.

surreal poetrylove poemsheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Shannon Loewen

Hi there :) I use poetry as a processing tool and only recently began to share my works. Thank you for reading them <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.