Poets logo

Quickly

A Poem About Life

By Nicole Higginbotham-HoguePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
15
Quickly
Photo by Alex Iby on Unsplash

We sway in silence

in the night

nothing on our minds

but each other

as we contemplate

how time went by so quickly

only years ago

were we vibrant and young

trying to overcome

the simple struggles of love

and now as the grey hair sits in

and the wrinkles begin to spur

it all seems like a blur

and I wonder if I did enough

in your youth

to show you how much you move

my heart

if only I could take apart

all of the fights that we had

and replace everything that was bad

with simple conversation

and if I could feel that moment

when we first kissed

the vulnerability and innocence

will be missed

and the way my heart first began to beat

for you

stays true in my memories

so as I hold you close

against my chest

I let you rest

your weary eyes

and I cherish the moment

like every moment

because so quickly does time go by

inspirational
15

About the Creator

Nicole Higginbotham-Hogue

Nicole Higginbotham-Hogue is a lesfic author at amzn.to/36DFT2x. Sign-up for her newsletter at higginbothampublications.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.