Poets logo

Puto and Me

Flavor, Memory, and Connection

By Charlene Ann Mildred BarrogaPublished about a month ago 1 min read
8
Plate of Puto with Coconut - Photo from The Paul Ricafrente Collection from CANVA PRO

Steam and the warmth of a kitchen filled with morning light,

My story begins.

Not of quests or battles

but of something far more.

Found in the simplicity of rice,

water,

and a sugar,

transformed by heat and patience.

Into something magical:

Puto.

This is not just a story about a snack.

But a sense of heritage,

wrapped in the scent of banana leaves,

to the hands of those who came before.

It's the warmth of my mother's kitchen.

The laughter,

the stories told and retold,

as the steamer hisses its ancient song.

Puto—more than just rice cake,

It was the thread connecting generations.

A simple pleasure at every celebration,

a comfort in moments of despair.

White, fluffy,

with a piece of cheese on top for a salty contrast,

or a slice of salted egg,

bursting with color and flavor.

Each bite is a step back in time.

From childhood mornings,

where the air was filled with promise and the sweet smell of steaming cake.

Afternoons under the mango tree,

where ancestors and spirits were as accurate as the food on our plates.

To evenings of festivities,

where puto was the star among the spread of dishes,

binding us in joy and tradition.

But puto is more than a memory.

It allows for reinvention and creativity,

adapting to the times while holding its essence dear.

From the traditional to the innovative

infused with ube, pandan, or even a hint of cocoa,

It challenges the palate and delights the senses.

beloved snack's versatility and enduring appeal.

As I grew, so did my relationship with Puto.

From a child who watched wide-eyed as each cake was unveiled,

to an adult standing in my kitchen,

steamer in hand,

attempting to bridge the past and future

with every batch I made.

The process, both meditative and exhilarating,

a great of flavors, textures, and memories,

each step, a nod to those who taught me,

Each failure is a lesson.

Each success is a celebration.

Puto and me—it's a love story written in rice cake,

a sense of discovery, identity, and connection.

Through it, I've explored the depths of my heritage.

embraced the nuances of my culture,

and shared the joy of my discoveries with the

It's a bond that transcends time.

a flavor that lingers on the tongue and in the heart,

that is the simple,

We often find the extraordinary.

Free VerseFamilychildrens poetry
8

About the Creator

Charlene Ann Mildred Barroga

I'm a writer and content creator who loves to share tips on how to maximize your productivity and get the most out of your day. I

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Mika Oka2 days ago

    Your words made it sounds so yummy

  • What a beautiful poem! This reminds me of my childhood in the Philippines. This is one of the most famous delicacies in the country, and I still remember how I would store pennies to buy some. Thank you very much for sharing. I am excited to read more of your stories.

  • Murali29 days ago

    Great, my favourite snack is tirunelveli alva

  • Ameer Bibi30 days ago

    Hi dear you described the snack in yummy and nostalgic style, very well written. Regards Amir Bibi

  • Manisha Dhalani30 days ago

    Charlene, this is brilliant. So nostalgic, memorable and, well, now I'm hungry. Love it - deserves to be a top read!

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Oh I've had steamed rice cakes before, both sweet and savoury! Soooo delicious! Loved your nostalgic and yummy poem!

  • John Coxabout a month ago

    Charlene, this poem is pure, unadulterated yummy. It makes me wish I could try your Puto! The cakes in the photograph looks delicious! At our local farmer's market, a woman used to sell specialties her grandmother had taught her bake to include pandan cakes and crispy noodles that were the best we have ever eaten. We were so sad when she moved away.

  • C. Rommial Butlerabout a month ago

    Have you written about the ancestors and spirits that you encountered under the mango tree? I am a sincere lover of comparative religion and mythology!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.