Poets logo

Provisional Equality

A Subconscious Effort: Villanelle

By Lamar WigginsPublished 8 months ago β€’ Updated 8 months ago β€’ 1 min read
Top Story - August 2023
35
Provisional Equality
Photo by Elias on Unsplash

This moment will triumph and crystalize,

leaving examples of harmony in its wake.

Declare your right to be utterly glamorized.

*

Backwards we go, longing to chastise,

at the turn of the cheek,

this moment will triumph and crystalize.

*

Fly, Fly away to those barren skies,

where uncertainty awaits your return.

Declare your right to be utterly glamorized.

*

My thoughts, once static, begin to catalyze,

lifting me up to comfort my soul.

This moment will triumph and crystalize.

*

Search for ambition, keep your eye on the prize.

For it relinquishes the grief and spite.

Declare your right to be utterly glamorized.

*

Unified efforts will soon be immortalized,

granting you deserved rites of passage.

This moment will triumph and crystalize.

Declare your right to be utterly glamorized.

________________________________________________

Thank you for stopping by 😍

social commentaryinspirational
35

About the Creator

Lamar Wiggins

Creative writer in the Northeast US who loves the paranormal, mystery, true crime, horror, humor, fantasy and poetry. Take a chance, you'll be thoroughly entertained.

"Life is Love Experienced" -LW

LDubs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (30)

Sign in to comment
  • Veronica Coldiron8 months ago

    I am in no way surprised this was a top story! I could hear beautiful R&B music in my head while I was reading this. Immersive, deep and uplifting! Just awesome!!

  • Jay Kantor8 months ago

    L-bud - According to Nietzche his philosophyΒ of 'turning the other check' is a little unworkable of late. - Thanks for this - J-bud

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    Powerful words and a tough form well executed! Well done, my friend! Congratulations!

  • Caroline Jane8 months ago

    Ooof... that was fierce! Nicely done.

  • Test8 months ago

    Wow I love the message love how powerful your words are. Congrats on the top story. Really well deserved.

  • Rob Angeli8 months ago

    A round of applause sir, a magnificent and important poem. Love the balanced perspective. Congratulations on Top story!

  • Raymond G. Taylor8 months ago

    Another great TS. Congratulations and well done Lamar. Always good to see

  • Way To Go, Lamarβœ¨πŸ˜‰πŸ“πŸ‘ŒπŸŽ‰CongratulationsπŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰

  • Kristen Balyeat8 months ago

    Such a phenomenal piece, Lamar! You powerfully executed that style! Brilliant and beautiful job!!! Congrats on top story, so well deserved! πŸ’«πŸ’ž

  • Donna Fox (HKB)8 months ago

    Congratulations on TS, this was such a great one for you to get the recognition you deserve!! πŸŽ‰ Also, would you like me to comment on the link bomber below? I have some article they might be interested in... 😈

  • Uzor Chidera8 months ago

    Please I just wrote my article kindly rate it for me so I can do better https://vocal.media/stories?status=submitted

  • Novel Allen8 months ago

    I have got to get the Villanelle thing down pat. I read about it but now this is so wonderful, I will really give a closer look. Congrats, poetry in motion.

  • Ian Read8 months ago

    This was a brilliant piece, catchy and lyrical. Congrats on a well-deserved TS!!

  • Real Poetic8 months ago

    Swinging back to say congratulations!! πŸŽ‰πŸ’–πŸ©΅

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    This is spectacular. Meant to read it the other day there when it was first published...forgot. Read it now and can see why it is deserving of Top Story! Well done, Lamar!

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    This had a song-like quality. I love your word choice ☺️ Congrats on the top story

  • EYHCS8 months ago

    It's refreshing...it left me prepared to be glamorized. Beautifully written, Lamar!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)8 months ago

    Lamar I appreciate the rhyme scheme of this poem! I also like the repetitive language that adds extra emphasis to your message! Keep up the great work!

  • I tried to declare it once. Everyone simply laughed. Great poem, though. Very encouraging. Maybe I'll try again.

  • This was soooo powerful! You also perfectly executed the Villanelle! It's a format that I'm so terrifed to try, lol!

  • This is brilliant. I opened it last night when you published it but realised immediately I was too tired to give it the level of focus it deserved! So, back again. Outstanding, Lamar!β€οΈβœ¨πŸ™

  • Tiffany Gordon 8 months ago

    gorgeous work Lamar!

  • Mattie :)8 months ago

    Awesome! Really inspiring, friend. Good job.

  • Wow, that was so good! Giving me the feeling that a moment could materialize and become something tangible. Loved the flow of this! Great stuff!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.