Poets logo

Proud of You:

Narrative Poem

By Saroyan ColesPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Proud of You:
Photo by Joanna Nix-Walkup on Unsplash

Simply,

as simple green

gets gear oil

out of your favorite jeans.

Looking into your eyes;

Is my fire escape ladder,

you see through me

as if I was a single

paned window-

As if

my essence is pure

OPULENCE

Our paths keep crossing

as if we’re standing,

where our hearts belong—

I hear your voice say,

I love you,

and

I know you love me too

like it’s a voicemail

saved into

the secret chamber

of my heart-

When the honeymoon phase

phases out,

When the words get shorter,

When the smile you plaster,

starts to crack

As I watch

your temper boil,

And temper like chocolate

I see your demons

cause chaotic wildfires of

distress, destruction, distraction

PAIENTLY

I will stand beside you

as you shadow box,

every mindset ridiculer

Gingerly

set my sword of truths

down,

SO

you feel free to speak yours-

As I grab your hand,

you’ve got nothing to prove,

I see your worth....

The beast inside you,

is safe with deamons in me—

Reminder you,

showing emotions

is not emasculating...

out of

BILLIONS

of

people

I could choose

You’re the one,

I never wish to loose-

Enjoying you,

on your worst days

Knowing you have

the ability to break my heart

BELIEVING

wholeheartedly you won’t!

We may never have much,

but having eachother,

is more than enough-

Our shit-boxes may leave us

stranded...

But our love is a highway,

to merge

You may feel worthless

To me,

you’re priceless

I am so proud of you!

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Saroyan Coles

I want to empower others with my writing. I have always dreamed of seeing my name, on something.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.