Poets logo

Professional

*

By Dean F. HardyPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
18
Photo of Author

When i'm at my worst

i'm drunk

When i'm at my best

i'm drunk

When i steal your woman

or when you steal mine

i'm drunk

When i wake in the morning

and lay down at night

When i say i love you

or that i hate you

i'm drunk

When i write at my best

When i write at my worst

When i write nothing at all..

i'm drunk

When i speak with God

or struggle to find him

i'm drunk

When i buy more beer

or decide to get sober

When i laugh

or when i'm gun barrell empty

When i speak to my father

When i hug my mother

When i shoot the shit with my brother

i'm drunk

When i disapear

or when i'm right there with you

When i sound my smartest

or when i can't connect the dots

When i'm mean as all Hell

When i make you feel special

When i piss on the floor

or can't find my way home

When i lose all reason

When i cling to you in the night

When the skeletons in my closet grow lonely

and when i make you nervous

or when i say enough is enough

i'm drunk

When i speak the truth

and tell you all the lies

i'm drunk

i'm drunk

And right now

no matter where you are

as the world spins

as the midnight sun

shoots a hole in the sky

well

you know the rest

performance poetrysad poetry
18

About the Creator

Dean F. Hardy

Writer from Dublin, Ireland.

*All work here is owned by Dean F. Hardy*

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk2 months ago

    Makes me sad somehow. But very well done, nonetheless.

  • Dean, this is very interesting. It makes me think of the line in the old song "I Can Dream Can't I?" "For dreams Are just like wine And I am drunk With mine" Excellent work as always!!!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)8 months ago

    Dean this poem gave me a lot of food for thought, specifically on the types of drunkenness that occur in human life. And I'm not necessarily talking about the actual booze induced drunkenness, I'm more speaking metaphorically. Like that overjoyed feeling you have when you've accomplished something to be proud of or that drained devoid of life feeling when you've suffered a great loss/ heartbreak. Generally just made me explore the idea that you can be emotionally drunk without having an ounce of liquor! Sorry if that's not where you intended this to go, I just thought I'd share where my mind went with this! Overall this was well written poem, I liked the impactful relative language and the opposing statements! It creates a confusing and yet very eye opening atmosphere for me! Great work Dean!

  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    Nice dichotomies. It whirls. Very well written ode to? curse on? drunkenness: it's always both.

  • Hannah Moore10 months ago

    I think that little line at the end, as the world spins, somehow makes drunkenness seem inevitable in the ludicrousness of living.

  • Great Piece❤️🥹📝💯❗

  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    Your poetry always fills something in me, even those that aren’t topically relevant. This one is startlingly honest and vulnerable. I feel like I’ve borne witness to something that has hidden in plain sight for a long time, beyond the words used.

  • Heather Hubler10 months ago

    I've taken this to mean so many things, drunk in the literal sense, drunk on emotion, drunk on life in general...well done on getting this one out. It felt kinda like a battle, back and forth.

  • Judey Kalchik 10 months ago

    I feel like my Grandfather, Peter Regis Foley, could have identified with this. And it helps me connect with him more, for all that he has been gone 50 years next month. Blessings.

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    I feel this is a confession. Very raw and honest

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    As I write this comment, I tip a beer. I'm not drunk but maybe I want to be. This was full of mixed feelings to me about a drunk state of mind. Glad you got it off your shoulders if it pertains to you.

  • I kept on waiting for you to reveal that you were/are drunk with love & affection for whomever you are addressing. But now I'm just sad. Which means, if you couldn't already tell, well done!

  • Is a drink required to read this? haha This explains and raises the questions on so many topics

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.