Poets logo

An Elegy for My Old Self

I'm Bidding Farewell to the Past

By Dominique AlcantaraPublished 21 days ago 1 min read
3
An Elegy for My Old Self
Photo by Suzanne D. Williams on Unsplash

Here lies my past, a chapter closed,

A version of me, once composed.

Thankful for the lessons taught,

In every battle, fought and sought.

Recall the joy, the growth, the pain,

The sunshine walks, the dancing rain.

Life’s road was rough, its incline steep,

Yet from each climb, rewards I'd reap.

Shed no tears for what’s left behind,

Embrace the new self I'm set to find.

For though the past had its own charms,

I now walk forward, into new arms.

With struggles faced and hurdles leaped,

The smiles I gathered, the promises kept.

This goodbye is not for sorrow or regret,

But gratitude for the growth I met.

As I pen these lines to my former guise,

I see a dawn with fresh, new skies.

A life transformed, ready to begin,

Celebrating change found deep within.

Remember me, but with a smile,

For I am reborn, without denial.

A journey ended, another to start,

With an open mind and willing heart.

An Elegy for my Old Self

Free VerseElegy
3

About the Creator

Dominique Alcantara

hmmm, anything, everything about my life

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 21 days ago

    Fascinating! Great poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.