Poets logo

Procrastination Plague

A little about what goes on inside my head sometimes

By Mohammed DarasiPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
Procrastination Plague
Photo by Nubelson Fernandes on Unsplash

Every day I continue on, routine simply droning on

I ask myself “why don’t you move and do that?”

But never really get a straight answer to that

I continue on, routine simply droning on

In my head I know the truth

I’m not a recluse

Nor am I lazy

But how much I put off till “the next day” amazes

Why do I do this?

Why don’t I move my feet?

And push forward? I know how to achieve this feat

And yet, I don’t

I continue on, routine simply droning on

-

I want to do more than now

I want to do more somehow

I don’t want to sit idle

On standby

While life just passes by

“So much to explore” the world everyday declares

If only my legs were not ensnared

By my brain

It knows this, but still it rebels

Providing distractions

Like pestles

Grinding me to a lull

-

I might look lazy to some

But I know it’s not that simple

Something else creeps in and dwindles

My interest

Fiddling with my brain and perspective

I have to get out of this and change my objective

I can’t continue on

Routine, stop! Now be gone.

social commentaryinspirational

About the Creator

Mohammed Darasi

I write fiction, poetry and occasional articles about interesting topics. I recently created a website (just because) which I will be posting my writing in (among other things). it would be great if you check it out. https://mindpit.co.uk/

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Kristen Balyeat12 months ago

    Your poetry is totally rocking my world this morning, Mohammed! Woah! This one is absolutely fantastic! Another beautifully thought provoking piece! Keep it up, friend!

Mohammed DarasiWritten by Mohammed Darasi

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.