Poets logo

Pale Beauty in Darkness

Last thoughts of a drifting fictional astronaut

By Mohammed DarasiPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
23
Pale Beauty in Darkness
Photo by NASA on Unsplash

Chilling thoughts churning through

My mind in everlasting illusion, it feels

Hopeful platitudes repealed

Slowly repelled outwards

Subsiding feelings in the outmost

Of my limbs

Drifting towards darkness it seems

Body ripping at the seams

Vision blurry and it seems

My life is ending at the scene

If it ends as I look at this scene

I don’t mind. Magnificence is the theme

The pale blue marble glistening. I feel esteemed

To witness the marvel that is our home

From such a distance… shit, I hear a light drone

Air is escaping into the vacuum

Even the air is fighting to be free I assume

I’ll be happy, as I’d achieved my freedom from gravity

And had enjoyed such beauty, despite every body cavity...bleeding

I’ll float here and enjoy the scene in

Peace. Thank God I’m not careening.

...

...

B e a u t i f u l...

P e a c e f u l...

B r e a t h – t a k i n g...

...

...

...

Goodbye earth... I’m glad your beauty I got to taste

...

...

Hang in there, sir! We’re pulling you in, post-haste” 

inspirationalsurreal poetryheartbreak
23

About the Creator

Mohammed Darasi

I write fiction, poetry and occasional articles about interesting topics. I recently created a website (just because) which I will be posting my writing in (among other things). it would be great if you check it out. https://mindpit.co.uk/

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Kristen Balyeat4 months ago

    Love this piece, Mohammed! What a whirlwind of emotions! This was an entire story in such a short piece– absolutely brilliant!

  • Sarah D10 months ago

    Wonderful Read!

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    This is fantastic and that ending has me messed up. First I was sad, then at peace, then whoa what if he doesn't want to come back! Excellent job on this one.

  • Tiffany Gordon 10 months ago

    Brilliant work!

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Spectacular poem!!! Loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Jordan Sky Daniels11 months ago

    Oh goodI got worried

  • Donna Fox (HKB)11 months ago

    This had such a depth to it that is so hard to process, you've left me reeling from this emotional rollercoaster (in a good way). I was so ready to embrace the abyss with the narrator and then shocked and relieved to be saved. It was so melancholic and yet so filled with hope with that ending line... Beautiful! So wonderful portrayed and written Mohammed!

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    What Naomi said. I was all for crossing the void and hearing your summary of life after death. But, hey, I am happy they saved you, maybe, hopefully. This was deep.

  • Naomi Gold11 months ago

    Well this was a clusterfuck of feelings. It reminded me of that episode of Buffy the Vampire Slayer where she gets brought back to life, but regrets it… because, for once, she was at peace, surrendering to nothingness, no longer obligated to do or be anything. It also made me wonder if people with near death experiences ever have mixed feelings about surviving. I mean, life is a beautiful blessing, but if you think your work is done and accept it, only to find out it’s a “gotcha!” I don’t know how that feels. There’s also some vivid use of language here. Great work, Mohammed.

  • J. Delaney-Howe11 months ago

    Creative writing! Well written.

  • Such a creative swirl of thoughts and feelings. Great writing. For a moment I felt as if I was the astronaut out there!

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    I felt so many emotions - fear, joy, hope - the pull between light and darkness. Amazing job; so surreal! 🤗

  • Nice Piece✨💯You have a Fantastic vision ❤️😉📝❗

  • Donna Renee11 months ago

    Whoaaaaa! This is just so surreal and vivid!

  • Joe Patterson11 months ago

    Good monologuing commentary.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.